top of page
Search
malia yu

What I Learned Doing This Project

In my passion project, I created a website that allowed people to donate money to a local dog shelter. I contacted Family Dog Rescue, the shelter I ended up partnering with, and asked them if they were open to receiving the donations from my project. They gladly agreed, leading me to the conclusion that the problems faced by shelters financially are looked past by the public. I then asked many people to donate, and I was very lucky when many family members and friends generously gave money to help my cause. I also posted about it on my social media platforms. I kept and posted progress reports on how I was doing onto my website. My original plan was to have people ship used dog supplies so I could donate those also, but I realized that people might not want to pay extra to ship something such as a toy or a dog bed. I decided to stick to just donations in money, so the shelter could use the money for whatever they needed it for. My goal for donations was $500, and I wasn’t expecting to reach it. Eventually my GoFundMe campaign reached my goal and I couldn’t be happier. I met with the founder of Family Dog Rescue, who is a non-profit organization, and gave them the check with the $500. Their gratitude made this project even more rewarding. From completing my passion project, I gained the knowledge of how much of an impact helping others can do.


From raising money, I felt rewarded knowing that I was helping a non-profit organization, whose vision was to give back to dogs by providing them with homes. When I visited the shelter, I asked the founder, Angela Padilla, what her inspiration was for starting Family Dog Rescue. She replied, “All dogs give us so much love, even when we’re at our lowest. I want people to be able to experience this love, and for everyone to know that shelter dogs can provide that. Family Dog Rescue was created in hopes of finding families of all ages a companion. We rescue many dogs who have deformities to show people that not all dogs have to be perfect, and despite their flaws, they can be just as loving.” From using my self guided time in class to work towards helping an organization, I’m really glad I chose to help Family Dog Rescue. When most people look to adopt dogs from shelters such as the SPCA, most descriptions under the dog’s name card says “Not good with children.” Angela ran with this idea. She took in dogs from high-kill shelters, off the streets, and from other countries, and worked with them until they could be compatible to be with families. She believes that all dogs can be loving, even if they seem “dangerous” on the streets. How she built the foundation of her shelter was so inspiring, and it made me feel grateful that I was helping a shelter that was so loving and caring towards their dogs.


I learned about the impact I was making when Angela explained to me what donations are used for at Family Dog Rescue. As a non-profit organization, these shelters are not funded by the government, and rely on donations of money or supplies to stay open. Angela explained that all of their dog supplies were either donated or bought with the money they received as donations. With the money, the shelter can use it to improve the dogs’ living situations and help them to be ready to be adopted. Family Dog Rescue uses the money to treat illnesses the dogs, get them neutered or spayed, buy food, leashes, toys, beds, and many other useful items. Doing this project has educated me more about the impact of helping people. Before I started my passion project, I assumed that what I was doing would barely help, but organizations like these live off of what we have to give to them, so everything is cherished and valued.


There are so many organizations who need our help, and they carry a great cause, I challenge you to find a non-profit who supports the same ideas you have, and help them. It doesn’t have to be giving them money, but it can even be giving them your time. For example, if you love helping people, volunteer at a soup kitchen and help to feed homeless people. Your actions to help might seem small, but they’re noticed by whoever you’re helping, and they’ll always be grateful for your efforts.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page